“A Woman After Gods Own Heart” Chapter 2 Discussion

O.K., I know I’m a slacker.  Here it is Wednesday and I am just now posting this.  I am so sorry!  Have you ever just had one of those weeks?

I love Chapter 2.  The characteristics of the woman whose heart is rooted in God’s Word are trust, confidence, strong, does not worry, does not fear, and draws strength from the Lord.  WOW!  Those are tough characteristics to have sometimes aren’t they?  Let’s break them down a little.

  • TRUST – Trusting God can be difficult when you are in the middle of a storm and you see no way out.  But, putting that blind faith in Him is what has brought me through many trials in my life.  Trust Him with all your heart!
  • CONFIDENCE– to confide means to trust someone enough to tell your feelings, thoughts or secrets to.  Be real with God!  Tell Him everything.  He knows it already, but build a relationship with Him, so that you are able to tell Him ALL.  I sometimes say, “God you know my heart”, then explain.  He’s listening!
  • STRONG – the definition of strong is – “of great moral power, firmness, or courage: strong under temptation”.  Morals, firmness and courage are definitely something, we as christian women, should possess.  But, the word temptation is a scary one.  Temptation is everywhere.  Having a rooted relationship with God will help with the temptations the Devil places in your path.
  • DOES NOT FEAR– there are many things in this world to fear.  My biggest fear is losing my husband or one of my children.  There were times that I would dwell on that fear so much, I wouldn’t let myself go away for a girls weekend, would cry if I did go away and even had nightmares about losing them.  I know that’s crazy, but it’s true.  I think deep down, we all fear that, but I know God has a plan for each of us.  I know that I cannot live with that kind of fear everyday, so I choose to place it in God’s hands.  His Will be done.
  • DRAWS STRENGTH FROM THE LORD the best way for me to draw strength from the Lord is to read scripture.  I don’t know how you draw strength from Him, but some other ways are through worship, bible study, praying and sometimes even just being still and listening.  It could all or some of these.  But most importantly, establish a relationship with Him in some way or another.  Lean on Him, He’s waiting.

Leave a comment