Off the Beaten Path

Today, I am reminded of Numbers 14:18
‘The LORD is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion.

I love that verse, because it reminds me that our Lord is slow to anger and quick to forgive, unlike us.  We are quick to anger and slow to forgive.

I don’t know about you, but I get off the beaten path that God is trying to lead me down.  I don’t always feel like forgiving and sometimes, even want to be angry.  Can you imagine if God said He didn’t feel like forgiving us right then?  I think I would be destroyed.  Today, I have been convicted!

Last night I got my little feelings hurt over something that I could have handled a lot better and more like the Christian God wants me to be.  Instead, I was very quick to anger and it took me until this morning (after God beat me over the head), to forgive the person that hurt my feelings.

In our day-to-day lives there will always be people who hurt our feelings or anger us.  Let’s remember God’s Word in Numbers 14:18, and be slow to anger and quick to forgive.

Leave a comment